Calling the Quarters

Many people have asked me questions about quarter calls so let me address that here. I find them useful for so many different things. This week, I have an assignment to fully awaken to the elements. Part of my meditation time has been spent utilizing quarter calls. In order to protect your sacred space for ritual, you call energies associated with the four directions: north, east, south and west.

Quarter calls allow you to invite into your sacred space only the energies you want, and can therefore be edited and changed to invite faeries, dragons, winds, angels, totem animals…etc.

20121127-181654.jpg
Once you have invited or called the quarter energies, those energies provide you with what you have asked them for in your quarter call. You can ask them to protect your circle, witness your ritual, gift you with abilities that the directions are associated with, etc.
When working with quarter energies it’s important to remember to release them! Think of how you would feel if you were called to meet someone and then they took off and left you standing there, clueless. It’s the same way the energies feel if you don’t release them.

Following are the quarter calls I use when erecting my circle:

Guardians of the north, element of earth, I do summon, stir and call you forth to witness this rite and protect this sacred circle. Powers of earth, lend your strength and stability to this ritual, gift me with your powers of steadfastness and manifestation.
Enter here and Welcome

Guardians of the east, element of air, I do summon, stir and call you forth to witness this rite and protect this sacred space. Powers of air, lend your honesty and knowledge to this ritual, gift me with your powers of wisdom and direction.
Enter here and Welcome.

Guardians of the south, element of fire, I do summon, stir and call you forth to witness this rite and protect this sacred space. Powers of fire, lend your passion and courage to this ritual, gift me with your powers of creativity and strength of will.
Enter here and welcome.

Guardians of the west, element of water, I do summon, stir and call you forth to witness this rite and protect this sacred space. Powers of water, lend your emotion and purity to this ritual, gift me with your powers of intuition and transformation.
Enter here and welcome.

Some Witches cast using the fifth element, Spirit. Spirit can be a number of things, invoking ancestors, the God and Goddess, etc. Others choose to invoke the Lord and Lady after calling the other four elements. It’s a matter of preference.

20121127-185807.jpg
The picture above is an example of what I might imagine when calling the quarters. Having a good grasp on visualization is important when summoning quarter energies. When you are connected to the quarters and their energies, you will have an easier time channeling them. Without an understanding of how the elements manifest, you won’t recognize their presence. That is why Witches meditate on the elements, in order to connect with their many manifestations and be familiar with how they feel, physically, mentally, emotionally. This is why the lesson I spoke of in my last post is so important.

🌝Goddess Bless,
Aphynity🌀

5 comments on “Calling the Quarters

  1. A lovely explanation of “quarter calls” for those of us who are unfamiliar with the term. 🙂 I very much like all the different powers that the different directions bring and how that kind of ties in with astrology (something I believe in strongly). Another fascinating post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

