Image

Altar Devotion

20121113-035042.jpg

Let what I feel fill me but not consume me
Let me follow what I feel but not be forced
Let me become the kind of soul
Who never clings too hard
Who lets go and yet loves
Let me imagine better worlds
Yet work in this one
Let me touch and treasure, even people I can never hold
And let me learn from all my losses
Let me out and let me in
Let me see and let me be
A window, maybe broken
But through which-
A bit of air and sunlight comes

By Jack Veasey

This altar devotion is my favorite. I like the fact that I can run through and get right with myself, make certain that I am grounded and in a good enough place to be sitting at my altar!! It’s the perfect length and the way certain words are repeated makes it very poetic. Try it out and make sure to let me know how you like it. Any of you out there have any fave devotions to share? Leave em in my comment section.

Love & Light 🌞
🌜Aphynity

By aphynity

3 comments on “Altar Devotion

  1. Wow, that is *really* beautiful. I’m not sure what a “devotion” is, so I probably don’t have one to share. But I wanted to let you know that what you have written up there is so lovely. I’m doing a course in Emotional Therapy and part of it requires me to keep a Journal. May I copy and paste that devotion into my Journal?

    • Of course you may! Anything I post is for the community to use, experiment with, and hopefully have some success with! All I ask is that you stop by and let me know what your experience is like. A devotion is a set of words, movements, notes of music that help you express yourself to a higher power. Doesn’t matter what your conception of a higher power is. And sometimes a devotion can be to yourself, to express your love and compassion for whatever is going on within you. Thank you again for your compliment! Enjoy!

      • That’s very beautiful. Thank you for the explanation! 🙂 I definitely believe in a Higher Power, and I like the idea of “devotion”. I’ve never heard of that before, so thank you for sharing. 🙂

        I will definitely visit your blog again to tell you about my experience. I will try reading that devotion before I do my yoga next time. I think that might be a good time.

        In fact, I shall print it out and stick it to my wardrobe, so it’s where I can easily see it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

